Skip to content
 

ACTION ALERT FROM THE FLORIDA ASSOCIATION OF ANIMAL WELFARE ORGANIZATIONS

The Florida Constitution Revision Commission (CRC) will take a final vote on Monday or Tuesday on the proposed constitutional amendment to phase out greyhound racing in our state. If Proposal 6012 passes it will be placed on the November ballot for all Florida voters to decide.

It is critical that key members of the committee hear from you before that vote.

Please tell them you SUPPORT Proposal 6012 to phase out greyhound racing!

WHAT YOU CAN DO

Time is of the essence: Please call or email these members of the Constitution Revision Commission TODAY and urge them to Vote YES on Proposal 6012 to end greyhound racing in Florida.

Chair Carlos Beruff
(850) 717-9550
Carlos.Beruff@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Hank Coxe
(904) 353-0211
Hank.Coxe@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Jose Felix Diaz
Jose.Diaz@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Erika Donalds
(850) 270-8283
Erika.Donalds@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Gary Lester
(352) 775-7890
Gary.Lester@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Anna Marie Hernandez Gamez
(850) 320-8716
Anna.Gamez@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Tom Grady
(850) 270-1630
Tom.Grady@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Marva Johnson
(850) 792-6574
Marva.Johnson@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Frank Kruppenbacher
Frank.Kruppenbacher@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Jeanette Nuñez
(305) 227-7630
Jeanette.Nunez@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Darryl Rouson
(727) 822-6828
Darryl.Rouson@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Bill Schifino
(850) 792-5825
William.Schifino@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Chris Sprowls
(727) 793-2810
Chris.Sprowls@flcrc.gov

Commissioner John Stemberger
(850) 329-0805
John.Stemberger@flcrc.gov

Commissioner Nicole Washington
(786) 309-6022
Nicole.Washington@flcrc.gov

Here is a sample email message:

Dear Commissioner:

As a Florida resident, I urge you to vote “YES” on Proposal 6012 that would phase out greyhound racing in Florida. Greyhound racing is illegal in 40 states. Florida is home to 12 of the 18 tracks still operating in the United States. Approximately 8,000 greyhounds endure lives of confinement at Florida tracks. For 20 to 23 hours a day, these dogs are kept in cages barely large enough for them to stand up or turn around. On average, a greyhound dies at a Florida racetrack every three days. Greyhound racing is a dying industry. Since 1990, the amount wagered n greyhound racing has declined 74% and tax revenue from greyhound racing has dropped by 98%. In fact, according to a study commissioned by the Florida legislature, the state is losing between $1 million and $3.3 million annually because regulatory costs exceed revenues collected by the state. Please vote “YES” on Proposal 6012 to phase out greyhound racing.

Following are all of the commissioners’ email address if you would like to cut and paste them all into a single email:

Carlos.Beruff@flcrc.gov; Hank.Coxe@flcrc.gov; Jose.Diaz@flcrc.gov; Erika.Donalds@flcrc.gov; Gary.Lester@flcrc.gov; Anna.Gamez@flcrc.gov; Tom.Grady@flcrc.gov; Marva.Johnson@flcrc.gov; Frank.Kruppenbacher@flcrc.gov; Jeanette.Nunez@flcrc.gov; Darryl.Rouson@flcrc.gov; William.Schifino@flcrc.gov; Chris.Sprowls@flcrc.gov; John.Stemberger@flcrc.gov; Nicole.Washington@flcrc.gov

FAAWO
We are a non-profit membership organization developed to strengthen the animal welfare field by uniting animal advocates, providing professional growth and education opportunities and maintaining a unified voice for animal welfare in the state of Florida. Learn More